Some people think that having a set retirement age (e. g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? You have now reached the end of your Writing test; download the answers and see how well you have done.

Retirement is a time where a person ends his career and expects to live rest of his life peacefully. I do agree that the age of retirement should be different for all, based on their occupations as certain occupations cannot be performed after a particular age. All occupations require different skill set. In some occupations people do not have to put in physical energy and is more of a mental task, such as a person doing admin task in an office or an accountant working from a desk. These occupations can be done even after a person reaches certain age. While on the other side, there are occupations which require more of physical strength to do the job. A person doing carpentry or a someone who is a domestic cleaner would not be physically fit with best of his abilities to do the task even at the age of 60. So with different occupations requiring different kind of strength, in my opinion people doing the latter should have an option to retire early as they would not be fit to do some tasks till the age of 65 due to their age. The best example would be, a construction worker if asked to work till the age of 65, there is a high chance the person might be hurt physically or could be a possibility where he might not do the best job due to physical limitations. Such workers should retire early, as they have low physical strength and some occupations require exactly that which lacks after certain age. So I would agree with those people saying having same age for retirement is unfair.