Scientific research should only be carried out by govt and not be private companies.

Different pharmaceutical and scientific research companies are actively carrying out multiple types of research, besides the government. However, it is often believed that these studies or trials should be done by the Government only. I staunchly disagree with this view. This essay will first elucidate that limited budget of governments can be a hindrance in analysis, followed by an analysis on how latest R and D (Research and development) equipment owned by private companies can, at times, provide more accurate results. Firstly, it is imperative to understand that governments spend limited resources on scientific research and development without keeping new issues like outbreaks into account due to backlogs. However, giant pharmaceutical or research companies yearly spend billions of dollars on NPD (New product development) and research and development. The budget spent by Gilead Pharmaceuticals on the research of an HIV vaccine is a prime example of this. As per the New York Times, Gilead alone spent more money on its single clinical trial than the US government has, on scientific research in the last decade. Hence, unlimited resources spent by such companies prove their role to be vital in this field. Secondly, these private companies own the latest equipment required for Phase II and III clinical trials. Furthermore, their highly qualified and specialized staff with vast experience minimize the chances of error. The data compiled and provided to international bodies like FDA (Food and Drug Authority) and EMC (European Medicine Agency) gets approved in months instead of years because of compliance with a good manufacturing practice. Therefore, even governments have nowadays started working in collaboration with such esteemed companies. For instance, during COVID-19 times, the US government is working in collaboration with Pfizer inc. on its vaccine’s Phase III clinical trials. Thus, the efforts of such organizations in the field of research are worth appreciating. To sum it up, research companies with their limitless budget, updated machinery and qualified employees have proved to have a significant contribution to the world of scientific research. I believe that the goal of these privately owned firms and government, in regards to research, is the same. Therefore, they should be allowed to serve humanity like this.