Some people think that having a set retirement age (e. g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Despite the retirement system can be different according to the considered country, in most of the cases workers are entitled of pension only when they reach a given age, independently of their job position. Owing that, in the last decade, more people have been questioning this set retirement age, claiming that it is unfair under different aspects and I have to totally agree with this statement. First of all, we have to consider that not all the job positions are identical. Indeed, some employees undergo extremely physical demanding works that, in the long time, could be detrimental for their health. As if that were not enough, it could also affect their working ability and their job position per se. On the contrary, other positions do not require a great energy consumption and therefore can be performed for a longer period. Another aspect to bear in mind is that people are different as well. It is widely documented that some individuals are more susceptible to stress and work-related fatigue compare to others and this could lead to irreversible issues if not early recongnised. Be that as it may, those people might benefit from an earlier retirement. Moreover, people with chronic diseases should be given the possibility to use their time to recover or improve their medical situation instead of spending their time working. Considering different types of jobs I believe that some of them deserve to be mentioned when talking about earlier retirement. I truly believe that fireworks and mines and chemical factories workers should be entitled of a revision of their pension age as their job require hard work and they are frequently exposed to hazards. In conclusion, I think that a chanhe in the retirement age is a matter that the modern society should address in order to enhance the quality of life of its workers.