Some people think that governments should spend more money on sports facilities for top athletes. others argue that this money should be spent for sports facilities for ordinary people.

Sports facilities are essential part of sports training and exercise. Some people believe that there should be an increase in government funding on sports facilities for athletes but some people think that it is better to fund the sports facilities to be used by the general public instead. Although the increase in funding for top athletes can make the nation more recognized, I still believe that it is better to allocate the fund for the use of the public due to its affiliated health benefits to a larger number of people. Increased government funding on sports facilities for top athletes can also increase their chance of winning international competitions which can give pride and honor to the country, and consequently, inspire others to play sports. Players in international competition carries the name of their country, thus, winning a game also gives honor to the name of the country. For example, Manny Pacquiao, a famous Filipino boxer had made the country very proud by giving honor to the Philippines when he won high rank matches in boxing. Filipinos were inspired by Manny Pacquiao and as a result more people have been getting interested in boxing. It can be seen in this example that government budget for funding top athletes not only gives honor to the country but also translates to more people getting inspired to try sports. On the other hand, increased government funding on sports facilities for ordinary people can have greater impact to overall population as there are far more ordinary people than top athletes. For some people, it is more logical to spend the public's money in building and repairing facilities to be used by the public themselves, than allocating the fund to specific group of people. The government, for instance, can renovate old gymnasiums so that the general public can use it to play different kinds of sports. This can improve the public's overall health, thus, lowering their chances to get diseases caused by unhealthy lifestyle such as obesity, heart diseases, and even cancer. Allocating government fund for sports facilities of ordinary can lead to a healthier lifestyle and longer lifespan of the general population. Increased funding on sports facilities for top athletes have a direct impact on increasing athlete's win rate in international competitions which can make the nation recognized in a specific field of sports; however, I believe that it is more useful for everyone if the increase in funding will be allocated for sports facilities used by the public instead because there will be more people who will directly experience the health benefits of it. I believe that the money of the public should be used for the benefit of the public because it is their own money after all.