Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

People have different views about how to support creative artists financially. While some believe that governments should subsidise artists, others argue that there should be other ways to fund them. In my opinion, governments’ funds should be dedicated to more vital issues than luxuries such as the arts, and that alternatives should be used to support artists. On the one hand, some people argue that it is an imperative for governments to help artists financially to help them improve their work. They claim that each government is responsible for protecting the history and culture of the country, and artists are the best treasures that can teach people about such values through their artworks. Therefore, the more artists are able to develop their work by the help of the government’s support, the more historic and cultural heritage will be in the country. On the other hand, others believe that for several reasons, other funding sources should be considered to help creative artists. Firstly, these funds could be better granted to more pressing needs in society. For example, the healthcare system and education need more financial support from the government, and they should be prioritised over artists. Secondly, there are enough wealthy patrons to subsidise artists. For instance, a lot of celebrities who are interested in the arts are keen to fund them. Therefore, with the help of other funders, there is no necessity for governments to spend money on these artists. In conclusion, although I agree that creative artists need to be supported financially to be able to continue, governments should spend money on more important matters, and that other funders would be alternatives to fund these artists.