Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts, and that this money could be speant elsewhere.

I disagree with the view that expenditure on arts is considered to be a wasteful expense and this view is based on the inference drawn from examples and experiences. Firstly, we have seen historically that cultures who have patronised art evolved at a much rapid rate compared to their peers. Such investments in art have provided an avenue to the society to develop the intellectual capacity of the population by exposing them to visitors and tourists, the interaction increasing the understanding and knowledge which happens due to convergence of varied experiences. An example which comes to mind is the Egyptian kingdom which became the center of knowledge owing to their monuments and literature developed in that era. It is fair to say that the Egyptians were arguably the world leaders in art and science. Secondly, modern research suggests that an individuals mental capacity is enhanced when the brain is subjected to artistic influences such as music or colorful painting. A recent paper published in a reputed scientific journal infers that listening to music while operating on patients increases a surgeons efficiency by 20% and decreases the chances of post operative complications by 25%. This phenomenon is not an isolated association as similar correlation exists for other areas or art and scientific endeavours. Thirdly, investments in arts can be an important source of revenue to both the society and individuals. Dubai as a city is a great example of this concept which has around 30% of its gross domestic product contributed by tourists visiting it to experience and enjoy the creations in the city related to monuments, parks, museums and exhibitions. To conclude, contributing for development of arts is a nation building activity with multiple benefits including human capital improvement, hastening the development of science and technology, financial benefits to the economy and for the well being of the society.