Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts, and that this money can be spent elsewhere. with this view?

In our country today, many people are of the opinion that too much money is being lavished on art works instead of more profitable ventures. I, however, completely disagree with this notion for a number of reasons. In the first place, investments made into artistic works have been known to greatly improve the economy of any country through tourism. It is no longer news that people from different regions of the world are drawn to places with outstanding art galleries. As they come, they contribute greatly to the nation's economy by creating more jobs for the local people. For instance, according to the Nigerian Tourists Regulation Agency, tourism accounted for over fifty percent of the total revenue generated by the country in 2018. This revenue has contributed immensely to the funding of capital projects which, in turn, has led to an impressive growth in the nation's economy. In addition, the government's so-called "extravagant" spendings on the arts has significantly improved the global image of the country. Right up to the 21st of July, 2018, the country has always been ranked below the twenty-fifth position in any International Recognition ranking. However, as soon as the government invested a huge sum into purchasing the famous Monalisa Portrait from the British Museum; an event that was aired live by top global news agencies, our rankings soared above the tenth position. This implies that many people have developed interest in our country which will soon see to more foreign investors trooping into the country. In conclusion, spending money on artistic works is by no means wasteful as it has greatly improved the global image of our country as well as its economy.