Some people think that girls should take husband’s name after marriage while others feel that they should not follow this age old tradition. What is your opinion?

A few hundred years ago, things were straightforward, when a man and a woman got married, the wife changed her surname to that of her husband's name. But nowadays they are matters of concern. I completely disagree with changing woman's surname, as I see that as a transfer of subservience from father to husband, and losing women's identities to that of men's. Firstly, in the internet age, all the work that the woman did under her previous name is not going to show up in google search anymore. If someone is trying to track her down for job opportunities with the previous name, then it will be a tough time in finding hassles which include changing in all government records, causing more burden. This implicitly imposes her to lose her identity personally and also professionally. Secondly, when it comes to marriage, it is very apparent that the change is imposed mainly on women. She is expected to relocate to her husband's place, leaving her family, job and everything behind. If a woman refuses to take up the change, she will be considered as violating the tradition and not respecting the family and their culture. Women are expected to be communal, sacrificing their individual interests to the well-being of the family and having the husband's name as a surname can be seen as selfish and forcing them to be the change. It may seem easier to ask men to change their surname according to that of women, but it is always an invisible option and placing the burden entirely on the women to take up the change. To conclude, having a surname of husband’s is solely a woman's decision. The family should respect the women's individuality and should not run behind the tag of owning. In my opinion, people should consider marriage is all about the connection of two hearts, not a name changing event.