Some people think that getting old is a negative thing, whereas others think it is much easier for people to live in modern society.

It is argued that aging can exert several detriments, while others oppose this notion, accentuating its considerable benefits in the modern era. In the following essay, both sides of the argument will be analyzed before a reasoned conclusion is drawn. On the one hand, overall well-being can deteriorate as humans get older. Due to the weakened immune system, individuals are more prone to suffer from chronic diseases, including diabetes, heart stroke, or cardiovascular ailments, requiring them to spend an exorbitant cost on healthcare treatment to maintain their lifespans. In addition, aged citizens can struggle to approach state-of-the-art advancement. Research from Massey University in March 2015 revealed that the majority of elderly citizens took difficulty grasping how to operate and utilize such gadgets as household utilities and mobile phones since their receptiveness did not correlate with their ages, making them be fallen behind the modern era and furthering the generation gap. The potential drawbacks of aging can therefore be seen. On the other hand, residents can accumulate practical experience when their ages increase. Because of undergoing various stages of their lives, their mindset and critical thinking can be immensely sharpened, which can assist them in avoiding the lure of deleterious habits and social issues, including crime, violence, or prostitution, and enriching the youth’s skills. Furthermore, elderly citizens can actualize their long-term pursuits. Indeed, individuals can take up their ideal hobbies and lifestyles thanks to their economic power and sense of relief after gaining success and security in their careers, illustrated by the figure of over three-fifths of over-70 citizens desiring to pursue their dreamy activities nurtured since their early ages, according to Chile University’s survey in May 2016. Consequently, it is the case that the elderly can reap a wealth of advantages. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned arguments, I believe that getting old can derive innumerable benefits in the contemporary era. Perhaps governments will invest in elderly services to cultivate their sense of satisfaction.