In the tropical coastlines, a plethora of elements exists. Coral reefs are common in the water regions, and with no exception, they are linked to several benefits.

In the tropical coastlines, a plethora of elements exists. Coral reefs are common in the water regions, and with no exception, they are linked to several benefits. Marine biodiversity is a pertinent matter that is enhanced by the ridges. However, the reefs protect the aquatic places from natural hazards such as storms and tsunamis. Economic value is also increased due to the presence of corals. Since the reefs provide shelter to the water species, fishing and tourism activities can be enhanced. Therefore, with the need to nurture marine biodiversity and protect tropical regions against natural hazards, coral reefs are paramount. Coral reefs are crucial in many ways. According to DeCarlo (2020), a significant global population of humans relies on the ridges for economic gain. The corals are a source of shelter and nutrients to marine organisms. As such, fishing activities are strengthened hence offering monetary value to the locals and the international community. The ridges also improve tourism activities. They are culturally significant to indigenous individuals across the globe. Coral reefs are vital in protecting the tropical areas. Hoegh-Guldberg (2017) notes that the ridges help in minimizing the impacts of ocean waves. Thus, natural calamities, including tsunamis, are reduced (Hoegh-Guldberg et al. , 2017). Even though coral reefs are essential in promoting the marine ecosystem, it is crucial to protect them to maximize their impacts. In conclusion, coral reefs have positive impacts on the marine ecosystem. They offer nutrients to the aquatic creatures, thus increasing their population. As such, fishing and tourism activities are improved, which are salient in nurturing economic value. Corals are also crucial in protecting the coastal lines from natural hazards. They reduce the influences of water waves hence curbing the impacts of storms and tsunamis. All in all, coral reefs should be protected due to their benefits in improving the marine ecosystem.