Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to guarantee a good job, others believe that it would be better to go straight into work and get experience instead. Discuss both sides and state your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about what is better in order to get a job: either attend an institution of higher education or work immediately in order to get work skills. This essay will discuss why getting an education helps people get a good job but why acquiring job skills is more useful to become employed. Getting a degree helps individuals get good jobs. Having a college diploma differentiates higher education graduates from other people and helps them get a good job. Moreover, often white-collar jobs require training or skills that are obtained while in university. A specialization in tunneling, for example, will help an engineering graduate find a good job because not many people have the knowledge required in that area. In general, degrees improve a student´s prospects for employment. Although degrees help students find good jobs, work experience is a more effective and cheaper manner in achieving the latter. Everybody has to get valuable work skills before taking a managerial position. Individuals that start working early acquire these skills earlier than higher education graduates. To illustrate, a person with five or more years of experience in an area knows better how to accomplish the tasks that the job requires while a university graduate is just starting to adjust to the workplace. Job tasks are learned only by doing. People can either get a degree or start working immediately instead. This essay explained why higher education helps students get a good job but why work skills help individuals accomplish the same goal quicker. In my opinion, working immediately after high school not only gives people valuable work experience faster than graduates but also is cheaper.