Some people think that formal education should start for children as early as possible. While others think that it should not start until 7 years of age.

There is an argument that formal schooling should start early in age. Nevertheless, the opposite side claims that students should have a minimum age of 7 years to roll on school. From my perspective, delaying a couple of years the beginning of academic life may be more beneficial. On the one hand, having children as young as 3 or 4 years assists mothers to return to work, since women commonly sacrifice their professional careers to take care of the little ones, consequently improving gender equality in the job market. For instance, studies have shown that countless entrepreneurs only hire female workers with kids if they are at school, with the goal of reducing the chances of missing work days. Additionally, socializing with classmates plays a critical role on the development of social skills, due to the fact that pupils spend several hours playing or having conversations with other children, which leads to a reduction of insecurity. Conversely, attending classes at the age of 7 may reduce mental diseases, because students are more mature to deal with challenging circumstances, as a consequence, as adults, they are going to be mental healthier. For example, a recent study has proved that anxiety and depression are more frequent on adults who started formal schooling earlier in comparison to other pupils. Moreover, play-based environments, such as kindergartens, are a more valuable alternative to youngsters, as they can better develop their creativity and problem-solving skills while playing, as a result, these children may be more prepared to attend classes. To conclude, although having young pupils formal studying helps parents to work, delaying academic years might assist kids mentally. Personally, I believe that at 7 years old students are ready to formal studying.