Some people think that family life and parents have great influence on children’s development, while others consider that external influence plays a more important role in children’s life.

In recent times, there is always a fierce debate about which factors play the most indispensable role in youngsters’ development. Some people firmly believe that it is the parents that are the key ingredient to impact it, whereas others dispute that the outside factors influence children much more. In this essay, both sides of this controversial issue will be thoroughly discussed. Broadly speaking, there are two prime reasons why people advocate of parents. First of all, children learn their first and most important lessons in the home. In other words, the education of children always begins with parents, when is the golden period of personality formation. Another reason is that children spend nearly all of their time with their family, especially in their early years, so that the character and personality of youngsters are deeply inseparable of the family. For example, some experts claim that kids coming from the dysfunctional families are more likely to have personality problems, in comparison with the loving one. In spite of this, the obvious influences of schools for young generation can not be denied. To begin with, technology is also an essential way for kids. In this age of information explosion, the young generation has more tendency to be bombarded with a variety of information. Moreover, it is widely acknowledged that children in recent days spend much more time on the Internet instead of interacting with family. Admittedly, the influence of technology cannot be obscured. In conclusion, there are certainly strong arguments on both sides of this issue. In my view, nowadays the importances of family to shape the kids’ personality has declined, with the technological development.