Some people think that everyone has a right to have access to university education and governments should pay the tuition fees for all students no matter what financial background they have.

It is a common belief that students from all backgrounds have opportunities to attend university education. Although some people hold the view that the government should have a responsibility to pay the tuition fees, I would argue that the tuition fees should be paid by students. On the one hand, it is undeniable that students need not pay for their education. First and foremost, people from lower socio-economic backgrounds can have a chance to go to college and pursue higher education. As a result, they can not only gain benefits for themselves, but they will also contribute back to society by using their knowledge and talents. Furthermore, an exemption of tuition fees can prevent crime rates, especially for young people. This is because that educated young citizens can distinguish right and wrong, they may not turn to a career of crime. Notwithstanding the above mentioned arguments, I am convinced that charging tuition fees for students is significantly necessary. Firstly, it will relieve the financial burden from the government. Therefore, the government can invest more in other fields such as healthcare, technology, or the manufacturing industry, additionally, all members of society do not have to pay too much taxes. Another compelling point is that students may pay more attention to education and academic results. By doing this, students will make an effort to become well-qualified employees worth the money spent. This will result in achieving a higher position in career path, and in turn a more productive nation. In conclusion, though some people think the government should introduce the policy of free access to college education, I contend that people attending schools have to pay for their own education.