Some people think that eventually, robots/ machines / AI will replace all human labour.

In only a few decades, there has been an enormous development in AI. I believe that AI will cause job loss for some but not for all. Whether or not a job will persist depends upon the nature of the work being done. Some types of jobs are mainly related to calculation and simple services. A bank teller or a fast food worker, for example, takes basic commands and completes simple calculations. Already, machines are beginning to replace humans in these domains, as customers can issue their commands through buttons on a machine, rather than through speaking to a human. Other types of jobs, including those related to the arts and creative expression, may come under threat from AI, but not as soon or as completely. For instance, there are now software programs that will write advertising copy, but it is nearly impossible to imagine them writing emotive poems or novels. Moreover, even if a machine can paint a landscape, it is unlikely that painters themselves will be jobless, because most people want art created by a human hand. Finally, it is very unlikely that AI will oust professionals who work in the areas of psychology or spirituality. A robot counsellor lacks the intuitions and compassion of a human being; a software program is not what we want praying along with us. When we face overwhelming life events or the anxiety of major life changes, we need the shelter of other humans and a machine simply cannot understand or validate us, even if it speaks our language. Our future will certainly include more AI but while such technology threatens some jobs, it cannot replace others.