Some people think that English will be the most common language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this impact?

There is a general belief that in the near future English would be a one of the most prominent languages spoken worldwide. This would be a particularly be to the detriment of other languages as they would become obsolete. This would explore the pros and cons of this impact in the society. The main advantage of a global language is the ease of communication in interactions between citizens of different nations as this would also help in increasing business opportunities across the board. There will be no barriers in verbal expressions both abroad and local communities resulting in little or no breakdown of understanding interpersonal communications. In particular, it would ease education systems worldwide where there would be no barriers to learning as the primary mode of instruction would be English. This would further increase the sense of community and allegiance even though places are separated geographically. The disadvantages of this impact of having a common lingua Franca as English is that there will be limited spoken expressions, it would reduce diversity in terms of culture and heritage among people. A lot of languages would become forgotten and in no time dead. This would also erase geographical distinctions because everything would start to become similar and it would discourage individuality of a group of people. In conclusion the impact of English as the predominate language globally would equally have its good and bad points. However as the world is becoming a global village because of technology, this would can become a reality sooner or later as it is a major language of instruction, research and business.