Most people do not care enough about environmental issues.

Nowadays, there are more and more problems related to the environment, such as pollution and global warming. Many people are not aware to what extent their habits damage the planet and think their contribution is useless. This essay will explain the reasons why people do not care enough about these issues. Although some changes can be perceived by people, environmental issues do not seem to be felt as a serious problem. The majority of the population is not sufficiently informed on the subject. This is also due to the inefficiency of governments and media in educating citizens about environmental issues. As a result, people are not aware of how harmful their daily habits are to our earth. Moreover, leading a sustainable lifestyle is more expensive and not everyone can afford it. In addiction, there are few initiatives to protect the planet and these are not equally distributed around the world. People have no incentive to change their lifestyles. For example, most of them continue to use their car instead of another more sustainable means of transport because it is cheaper. It is also common to think that the contribution of individuals is useless and that only governments and large companies should take action to improve the situation. In conclusion, people are not sufficiently informed about the dramatic situation of the environment and do not take action to improve it. Perhaps, when there will be more awareness, people will change their lifestyle to a more sustainable one. Hopefully, it will not be too late.