It is commonly believed that the violent content shown on TV and in the cinema, which are the two most favourite source of entertainment, affect the mindset and actions of our youth. Therefore, I agree with the fact that it is the major cause of surge in amount of violence around us.

There is no doubt that violence has increased significantly over the past few years. However, movies and TV shows, which contain violence, did not contribute much in the growth of crimes. In the following essay, I will explore the two main reasons for that growth, and how visual contents may not be responsible. Firstly, governments and film producers usually sort out the films and shows, according to the viewer age. For example, if there are a lot of crimes and murders in the content, they limit the age of 18 years old and above, which means young adults or kids cannot watch the movie. Therefore, it will not affect their mindset at all. On the other hands, I believe that social media affects peoples' actions more than anything else, as they do not strict the age of viewers, which makes it easy for children to access all kinds of videos that might brainwash the child. Secondly, experts say that young people tend to copy their neighbours and individuals who live in their environment, which leads to a conclusion that people get impacted by the real world not by any TV contents. To support this idea, kids who live in a well taken care environment rarely do any kind of violence, while children who live in a crime full society tend to engage in crimes. To sum up, I think watching movies contain violence do not result in an increase in crimes. However, social media and society contributed more in the growth of violence.