Some people think that encouraging people to using their cars less and public transport more will help in declining the rising levels of congestion and air pollution.

Nowadays, people use more private cars which lead to more cars on the roads and results in heavy traffic jams and air pollution. These problems are more common in big cities across the world. I agree that the only effective way to solve this problem is by encouraging people to use public transportation instead of using private cars. There are many benefits of using public transport. Firstly, it is economical to use buses and trains as daily commute as fares are quite cheaper. People do not have to buy their own vehicles which means they do not have to pay for fuel and vehicle maintenance services. Recent study reveals that car owners expend around 40% of their monthly income on fuel and maintenance services. Secondly, it will save time a lot of time because public transportation, nowadays, are developed to be faster and more convenient for the citizens. For instance, Bullet Train in Japan, which connects Tokyo to man other cities, is very high-speed- around 320 kilometres per hour. Moreover, using less private cars save environment and people’s health as well. Reduced number of cars on road results in less carbon-dioxide emissions- a greenhouse gas which is the biggest cause of air pollution and climate change. Thus, it will reduce the burden of air-borne diseases such as lungs cancer, emphysema and many more. Hence, it improves the quality of life. To sum up, in order to cope with rapidly number of private cars and worsening air quality, the government and individuals must adopt change and reduce the use of private transport.