Saving money was taught to be a part of growing up in children in the past in comparison to those who more easily spend now.

In recent years, children find it easier to spend on things they want to buy. This reason can be influenced by many factors such as television commercials and peer pressure. Parents need to teach their children different ways of saving from a younger age and make them understand the importance of it, this will help them in the future. For example, I remember growing up having a piggy bank where I collected money for a period of three months I would start collecting every penny I got. During the end of this period, I would be so excited and look forward to the day that I could use the cash and buy something I really wanted. This habit made me realize the importance of saving. It also helped me become more patient as well as to understand the value of what I bought. Since I understood the importance of saving, it helped me save and budget when I had to be independent. Youngsters need to understand the difference between ‘wants and needs’ before spending, this teaches them to value things. Parents and adults should positively encourage and educate children to make right choices of spending on the important needs. Children in poorer countries such as Africa can’t afford to even spend on basic average needs like water, food, books and clothes. To conclude, our children need to learn to spend wisely and make smart choices rather than blindly spending money on things that are not important long term. I agree with this essay that children in the past were taught to be wise with their spending and were encouraged different ways to save when compared to those now.