Prison is the best way of punishment. Give your opinion.

Now-a-days, crime rate is increasing at an alarming rate. In order to mitigate this issue, different punishments are given to criminals which act as a deterrent. Some people believe that giving prison sentences is the most effective of punishment. However, I strongly believe that this is not the right course of action as the prisons are too lenient most of the time and not entirely necessary in some situations. Firstly, the one reason why I do not consider prison as significant measure for sentences is that these are too comfortable to live in. For example, these days, offenders are provided with a large number of luxuries, such as video games and TV. These things fail to creat a learning environment. What I mean by this is that inmates would not be able to understand the severity of their crimes. If government wants to make them not to re-offend, wrong-doers need to be charged with serious offences. Another point to consider prison as less beneficial is that it is not required in less serious crimes. Take shoplifters as an example. Although they are arrested after being caught on CCTV camera as same as murderers or rapists, they are not liable to major and longer prison sentences. Therefore, they should not be charged with these punishments and ordered to face trial and eventually should not be kept in same prisons to rub their shoulders with serious culprits. In conclusion, according to some people's assertion, keeping criminals in cells is important strategy to follow. However, I completely disgree with this and holds the strong belief that this is not 100 percentage useful and not required in all cases. It is predicted that government would allocate sentences according to the severity of the crime.