Some people think that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others think that economic growth is causing damage to the environment and should be stopped now.

While economic development is often praised as the ultimate solution for sustaining global problems like poverty and hunger, it is equally criticized by its damage caused to the environment. Both these schools of thought hold valid arguments, which will be discussed before a personal stance being presented. Indisputably, economic growth so far has been serving effectively in eradicating famine and poverty on a global scale. Millions of children and adults, reportedly, decease every year owning to mal-nutrition and poverty-related consequences; thus, governments have been fighting restlessly to bring more food to people’s tables. Along with rapid economic growth, there are more and more people with better job prospects and higher salaries. In other words, more people now can afford food and satisfy their essential needs. The contribution of economic growth in battling against poverty and hunger is recognizable. However, striving for economic development does bring alongside effects that immensely damage the environment. There is a plethora of environmental consequences of intensive focus on economic development that could be named climate change, air pollution, water contamination, and loss of wildlife habitat. If these are also sustaining issues that are not prevented or improved, the existence of human beings would be on the verge of danger. All things considered, although economic growth offers effective remedies to pressing concerns such as hunger and poverty, it is inadequate to ensure environmental security. Given that, governments and individuals should make a collective effort in order to enhance the positive impact of developing economies on people’s living standards and regulate its adverse effects on the environment.