Some people think that developments involving the Internet have brought people closer together while others think that people and communities have become more isolated.

Some people think that developments involving the Internet have brought people closer together while others think that people and communities have become more isolated. Discuss both views and give your opinion. People's opinions differ as to whether or not people and their community are in isolation because of the web. While there are some strong arguments against that Internet has reduced the gap between people, I still believe that it is a necessary aspect of this developed century. There are several reasons why people might argue that the web has driven not only humans but also the society further apart due to its constant use. Firstly, there is evidence to support the idea that many become addicted to their gadgets, such as phones and laptops, where they either engage in a chat or online games, thus, ignoring their immediate environment and those around them. Secondly, many people would agree that there is a reduced social interaction and activity, which in turn, leads to lack of understanding, segregation and loneliness. Finally, it is recognized that our society is becoming more isolated because of the net. In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that, while the net has brought individuals close, it is yet to do so with the communities. The main benefit of the Internet is that you can search for your childhood friend on Facebook. In doing so, you may be able to reconnect, which would have been impossible without the web. Searching for the information about range of subjects and education in the Internet is also useful for students, for example. In my view, the net has bridged the gap between individuals. In conclusion, developments involving the Internet certainly has its drawbacks, but I believe that the benefits outweigh them in the long term. Ilhomjonova Parvina