Some people think that cooking is an essential skill and should be taught to boys and girls in schools.

Food is vital for people; we cannot live without eating, and, consequently, a number of individuals believe that cooking should be a part of a curriculum for both girls and boys. I completely agree that children should learn this crucial skill in schools because it might help them in their future life. To begin with, rarely stay live children with their parents. They move out eventually and face different challenges of independent living, such as socialization, career-building, or getting an education. It would be beneficial if they could avoid the stress of one of the aspects of independent living, in particular, learning how to cook. A clear example of this is my story. When I was a university student, I absolutely did not have any cooking skills, and I had to spend a lot of time learning them instead of doing homework or resting. Moreover, a lot of expensive, for a student, ingredients were spoiled during the learning process. Secondly, not only helps avoid some stress possessing cooking skills but also helps to save money. Usually, takeouts or semi-prepared goods are more expensive than ingredients because their price includes not only the price of products but also a cook's salary and rent. It is just impossible to avoid preparing meals by oneself with an average income in Russia. Furthermore, when one cooks, he can control the quality of food and make it healthier. This is especially important if one has some products related allergies or must stick to a special diet. For instance, a range of cookies without palm oil, which is advisable to avoid, is limited in Russian supermarkets. Thus those Russians who want to lead a healthy lifestyle have to bake cookies by themselves. In conclusion, possessing cooking skills has many advantages, such as avoiding extra stress at the beginning of independent living, saving money, or healthy nutrition. That is why, in my opinion, if possible, cooking should be a part of the school curriculum.