Some people think that computers and the internet are more important for a child's education than going to school. But others believe that schools and teachers are essential for children to learn effectively.

It is true that the computer and the internet are enjoying an upsurge in their usage in almost all the realms of life, and the field of education is no exception and their usage is widespread in almost all the educational institutions around the world. However, in my opinion, academic advisors and teachers are the most effective and efficient means of learning and are indispensable, as they provide individual assessments and support. The Computer and the web, on the one hand, have been universally acknowledged as an extremely helpful tool for improving the education sector and to better share knowledge freely and seamlessly. The internet, firstly, provides a gateway for accessing infinite information on click of a button. As a result, students can learn their subjects easily by sitting at home, without having to visit the schools. Secondly, latest technological inventions such as Skype allow students to take online classes from tutors located at a completely different part of the globe, this, provides flexibility and an opportunity for the younger generation to learn in a distant manner. Teachers, on the other hand, are one of the most important factors behind ingraining best of the academic knowledge to the students. They have had an enormously positive influence on students and are much more efficient when it comes to teaching. The major differentiating aspect of learning from instructors is that they provide an emotional and motivational support to a student, which I believe, is must in today’s competitive environment. Furthermore, teachers are experts in evaluating the performance of the students through various assessments ensuring they acquire knowledge which is genuine and of a high standard. On the contrary, computers are just a man-made machine which is not as intelligent as humans and cannot foster children with emotional support. The information on the web, more importantly, is not always consistent, and more often than not, the study material available on the internet is not from genuine sources leading in learning incorrect concepts and facts. From the above argument, it can be concluded that it is undeniable fact that the high-tech tools such as computers, web, and smartphones have a plethora of benefits in the upbringing of a child. However, they can only act as an additional source of acquiring knowledge, and cannot be a primary source of learning. Whereas, in my opinion, teachers were, are and will always be the most ideal way of learning.