Some people think that children should spend their free time doing homework, while others believe it would be better for children to participate in sports activities instead. What is your opinion?

There is an everlasting debate whether children ought to spend their spare time in doing homework or it is better for them to practice sports. I entirely agree with the latter view for some reasons which will be discussed below. To begin with, spending leisure time doing school homework can affect not only childrens’ psychological health but also their characters. That is to say, little ones who are committed with school assignments, that need hours to be completed, often suffer from stress. For instance, pedagogical experts in Finland, which has the first place over the world due to its educational system, recommend not to give primary school as well as kindergarten students any school homework. Furthermore, this approach may lead children to hate school as there is no time for them to play. Hence, so as to prevent truancy, young children should not be burdened with homework. In addition, participating in sports may help in instill discipline, perfect traits and manners in juniors’ personalities. This is owing to the idea that several sports teach them attributes such as team spirit and cooperation which can definitely lead them to be good citizens in the foreseeable future. Moreover, sport activities may help children to be more fit. This is because sports often enhance juniors’ health, and they can avoid some problems such as being over weight or obese when they do sport. In conclusion, due to leading to school absence and psychological issues, I hold the notion that in order for children to be healthier, they should exploit their free time in practicing sports rather than doing homework.