Some people think that children should obey rules or do what their parents and teachers want them to do, but others think that children controlled too much cannot deal with problems well by themselves.

Parenting and guiding children for their better future are quite complex tasks and people have different opinions on parenting styles. Some opine that children should always obey the rules imposed by the parents and should follow teachers’ instructions. On the contrary, another group of thought says that children should be given some freedom and too much stringency from parents and teachers could actually ruin their life. This essay delves with the both viewpoints and finally express my own opinion. On one hand, parents and teachers usually set some rules for the children and they expect the children to follow these rules. In most of the cases, parents and teachers set rules that are helpful and beneficial for the children. For instance, I can recall that my mother always expected us to wash our hands before eating any food. Sometimes we felt quite bored to follow this instruction. However, we now know that it was quite a good habit that our mother instilled in us. Similarly, there are many other rules that our parents wanted us to obey only because they were good rules and we, as children, had little idea about the negative consequences of disobeying them. Another example is the time when I wanted to watch cartoons on TV in the evening but my parents wanted me to go out and play some sorts of sports with other kids. At that time it was quite an abhorrent activity for me but now I can realise how this rule has actually helped me to have a sound health. Thus not all rules set by parents and teachers are meant to dominate the children but to actually help them grow properly. On the contrary, it is quite hard to believe but actually true that many parents ruin their children’s life by being overprotective and being abusive. If a father beat a child for silly reasons and a mother constantly follows and investigates what her teenage child is doing, that will surely have a negative consequence. Children who are always pressurised by rules and regulations from their family members often end up being timid and hesitant. They lack many important characteristics in their adult life and psychologists often attribute criminal activities due to abusing parents and teachers in childhood. Furthermore, if some sorts of freedom are not given to the children they often cannot expose their true potential in life. Again, severe punishment from parents and teachers can harm children’s ingenuity and can turn them into an immoral person. Considering both of the views I personally think that parenting is a complex task and it determines the future of a child. Thus parents and teachers should not be too much rigid about rules and regulations as it would diminish children’s creativity, respect and potential. On the other hand, some beneficial rules should be there as children often fail to understand the importance of discipline, value of time and hygiene. Wise parents and teachers know the type of rules they should impose to the children and what they should be flexible about.   Teachers and parents should be friendly to a child in most of the time and in some cases should be strict for the betterment of the child.