Some people think that children should obey rules or do what their parents and teachers want them to do, but others think that children controlled too much cannot deal with problems well by themselves.

People argued that parents and teachers should impose restrictions to children, however, some people, being overprotective and controlling will hinder the development of their cognitive and problem-solving skills. This essay will tackle those viewpoints, yet, I still believe that parents and teachers should supervise them with a right balance between being stern and lose in specific conditions. Teaching children to obey rules and regulations is a contributing factor to instill good moral and values to shape children’s character. By learning to follow these at an early age will help them understand that there are inappropriate actions that could harm them, and there are right conducts which they need to observe. As a result, these children will grow up as a decent person with noble values and behaviour. On the other hand, there are circumstances that parents and teachers tend to neglect that they at times become so domineering to enforce many rules which become detrimental to the children’s development. For instance, youngsters need freedom to explore things to cultivate their skills and knowledge. Since they become mindful of the rules and possible punishment for the consequence of their actions, it would lead them to limit themselves to their comfort zone. Consequently, when challenges come their way, they are more fearful to take risk and solve the problems on their own, because they become so used to consult everything to adults, instead of doing something new on their own. In my opinion, it is significant to discipline children by teaching them to obey some rules to cultivate their values and help them understand what is right and wrong. Nevertheless, it is equally important that parents and teachers should weigh in how much they should control the children without compromising their freedom to discover other things which are vital to their upbringing and personal growth.