Some people think that children should learn paint and draw. Others believe that is a waste of time.

There are conflicting views regarding whether children should learn paint and draw. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide my own opinion at the end. Those who think children should not learn subjects like arts may put forth the following argument. They may think arts will not be beneficial to children’s career development in the future because it is much more than difficult for most of people to earn very high income through painting or drawing whereas if they choose majors like engineering and information technology, they can easily get a decent job once they achieve success in academic subjects. However, if they spend more time on arts, their time spent on the these subjects will be reduced which will have a negative impact on their studying. Nevertheless, those who advocate children should be encouraged to learn arts can justify their opinions. Firstly, there is no doubt that arts can not be judged by a fixed answer like the subjects of mathematics or physics, so that children do not have to worry about making mistakes and will try out different ways to express their ideas freely, thinking outside box. In this process, their creativity will be improved which will be translated into the ability to see a problem from different angles, thus enhancing problem-solving skills. Secondly, since children study academic subjects intensively at school, arts can be a good way for them to get relieved from such pressure. In my opinion, it is good for children to learn how to paint and draw since it not only has a positive effect on their childhood but also contributes to their adult life in the future.