Causes and solutions of low economic development of Rwanda

Being a country without access to the sea, Rwanda is still one of the African countries under the poverty line as the report by the United Nations released annually shows. One of the main causes of this is based on the nation's uneffective use of its own resources. This essays examines the major causes of Rwanda's low economy and suggests possible solutions to tackle these challenges. Every country across the world has got its own raw materials and it is up to these nations to utilize them in a way that improves the standards of living of its citizens. In a similar way, Rwanda has very rich minerals and basics for its development such as fertile soil favorable for agriculture, underground richness such as precious dtones and methane gas suitable for energy production which can be used in industries to manufacture different products indoor. However, the way this richness is exploited is very horrible. For instance, Rwanda still waits for the foreign aid to finance almost the quarter of its budget instead of investing in its natural wealth to boost the economy. This keeps the country always in the midst of least developped nations on the globe. Many countries today have encountered similar issues like the Rwanda's but they managed to surmount them using different strategies and one, and may be, the most efficient one is the knowledge-based economy. A very clear example to this is South Korea, which had the similar status as that of Rwanda in the 1950's on the international scale. However, through the education system that emphasizes the solution oriented resarch and investment in technolgy in almost all their sectors, South Korea is one of the exemplary and powerful nation in terms of economy on the earth. Taking this as reference, Rwanda can implement such policies to improve its economy, thereby uplifting its citizens' quality of life. The better usage of the natural resources is vital for any country wanting to develop like Rwanda. However, the utilization of this wealth must be innovative given the trends of the current world such as the knowlege based economy plan.