In order to study at university, students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all students can afford them so some people think that University education should be free for everyone.

Several students forego university education as the tuition fees are very expensive. A section of the society believes that university education should be funded by students, while a vast majority believe education should be free for everyone. In my opinion, tertiary education should be free as it provides several benefits, both to students as well as the society. A primary benefit of abolishing tuition fees is that it provides equal opportunities to all students, irrespective of their financial situation. Today, most students from low income group skip university and directly seek employment or pursue vocational education. Free education eliminates such barriers and provides meritorious students a chance to achieve their aspirations. Another benefit of free education is that students do not have to work to cover the cost of education and living expenses. A study by Harvard University indicated that over 75% of students in the US and the UK work part time to meet their course fees. Free education releases students from this burden and helps them focus on their studies. Increase in population of university graduates also has a long term benefit to the society. It results in a skilled workforce in various areas, such as engineering, medicine, law and technology. Such skills are in high demand and an employable workforce can boost the economy significantly and result in a higher standard of living. To conclude, free education provides students equal opportunities to pursue a subject of their choice and makes them highly eligible for employment. It also boosts the economic growth of the country thereby benefiting the society at large.