Some people think that cars should be banned in big city centres.

Buildings make great landmarks and grab attention. In my opinion, they have to be functional and attractive. Both aspects are equally important and a building that satisfies only one of these criteria cannot be considered as a successful project. Beautiful buildings add character to a city. Aesthetically designed buildings, even have a commercial value. Take, for instance, the case of forts, palaces and castles. They attract visitors even today. People talk about their architectural brilliance; they talk highly of the architects who conceived these buildings. No-one will want to visit these buildings today if they don’t look good. Well-designed buildings have enduring appeal. The most famous buildings in the world are as beautiful as they are functional. People still flock to see monuments such as Taj Mahal, Mysore Palace, Eiffel Tower and Buckingham Palace. They are not exactly concerned with the functional aspects of these buildings. What attracts them to these structures is their beauty. Taj Mahal, for example, is nothing more than a mausoleum, but that building attracts more people than any other building in India simply because it is one of the most beautiful buildings in their world. Buildings are much more than a place to work, rest or sleep. They serve several other purposes as well. It is possible to build beautiful buildings that also serve their purposes well. Of course, this might increase the cost of construction, but in the long term the benefits will outweigh the initial cost. To conclude, buildings last decades or even centuries. Since they are permanent structures that will adorn our skyline for a long time, it makes sense to pay attention to their aesthetic aspects as well. Lots of natural resources are required to construct a building. The frenetic pace with which buildings are being constructed has already caused the depletion of natural resources. Therefore, people should be discouraged from building excessively large buildings or spending a lot of money on beatifying buildings.