Some people think that buildings such as flats and houses should be designed to last a long time. Others believe that it is more important to provide accommodation quickly and cheaply.

Accommodation issues are a great concern for almost everyone today, as we see the prices of those properties rising speedily, particularly in large metropolitan cities. While some might argue that the factors of rapid timescales and inexpensiveness should be prioritized, I tend to believe that a building for human habitation ought to last as long as possible. On the one hand, the proponents of providing low-cost fast built accommodation or houses point out that such buildings should not be a burden for every member of society who are directly affected by big events such as unemployment or economic instability. It is true that the cost of living in many urban areas has been extremely high over the past few decades and most citizens would feel more pleasant if they could pay off loans for an affordable house or apartment. For these people, it is much better to own a reasonably priced house rather than be homeless. My uncle Tony, for instance, felt indescribably happy as he saved up enough money for a cheap, nice house purchase on the outskirts of San Francisco city. On the other hand, I believe that such vital properties should be constructed to last as long as possible, which might even be a real saving scheme in the long term. The supporters of this viewpoint highlight that buying cheap accommodation could later end up at a huge cost due to low construction quality as well as high probability of purchasing another same building. For example, a family member of mine regretted buying his initial economical residence due to the fact that he had to do lots of upgrading and maintaining work for his underqualified town house. Thus, it appears that original investment for a decent place to stay could feasibly benefit those who might concern in the long run. In conclusion, it seems to me that initial huge cost for houses or flats could definitely outweigh the short-term benefits of cheaper and quicker accommodations.