Some people think that books should be stopped in schools that film videos and computer should be used

Many people believe that schools should use contemporary educational devices, instead of the traditional sources for teaching. However, I partially agree with this thought. I believe that the role of books cannot be altogether eliminated in the schools. People, who are in the favour of replacing Books with the modern devices, believe that these devices make teaching more interactive. The use of audio- visual aids, for example, helps in making teaching interesting. The increased interest of the students in the class automatically results in more understanding of the subject. In addition, teaching will be more effective when the students are explained, about the content, with the help of films or visual graphics. Students tend to grab more of what they see, than what they hear. It is also proved in a research by ‘The time’ that the students can remember only 30% of a lecture on an average while this ratio was 70%, if the same thing is explained with the help of graphics. However, I am in the favour of using textbooks for studies at schools. Primarily, because books are the basis of studies, that the students can carry to their homes. Hence, this provide flexible teaching. Secondly, these are designed according to the requirements of the course, therefore act as the best reference material. In absence of books the students will have to depend entirely on the teachers. To conclude, I consider that schools should use a combination of books as well as modern different devices to enhance the effectiveness of teaching and learning.