Some people think that big international sporting events are not worth for the host country.

Organizing international sports competitions often requires huge amounts of money and effort, with some people claiming these events do more harm than good to the host country. While I believe that there are certain negatives to holding a global sporting event, I would argue there are more long-term benefits for the nation holding these events. In my opinion, international sporting events are worth holding for several reasons. Firstly, the nations organizing these big competitions are often presented with special treatments by international sports federations and their teams are usually qualified to participate in tournaments with no competitive selection, whereas other teams face a fierce competition, which forces many favourite teams out of the event even before the games take a start. Secondly, these events raise the host nation’s international reputation since more and more people will have an increased awareness about the country either during their visit in the country or while they watch competitions over television and this may boost tourism industry in the future. Lastly, during their stay, spectators rent rooms in hotels, buy presents from local shops, and eat out in restaurants, which will eventually benefit the whole economy. However, I cannot deny potential negatives to holding the events. Crimes such as pickpocketing, burglary and even kidnapping are reported to increase during these events since it becomes very challenging for the police to monitor overcrowded stadiums and hotels, making life easy for criminals. Also, a rise in the prices of food, rent and other services is observed. Although this may not be the case for visitors, the cost of living may increase for local people substantially. It may also be said that the money spent on building infrastructure for events like the Olympic Games could be better spent on improving healthcare and education of the host nation. An unprecedented number of visitors dispose of huge amounts of waste unless this waste is recycled, it will cause environmental problems. In conclusion, I believe the potential threats that may arise during the events can be monitored by better police patrolling and CCTVs and short term loss of taxpayers’ money on construction of sports facilities may easily be covered by long term profits generated by increased tourism activities. Therefore, it is always favourable to have a global event held in one’s home country.