some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school, while others think it is a waste of time.

It is often argued that teaching kids art subjects at schools is important, whereas, many believe that it is useless. In my opinion, I believe that although learning art has some benefits, overall the time allocated to arts should be dedicated to more important and practical subjects. It is commonly believed that teaching art at schools have generally positive effects on children development. One key benefit is enhancing creativity by encouraging kids to express themselves on different ways; this can lead to improve their creative thinking skills in the future. Taking sculpture course as an example, in these classes, toodlers use their imagination to create different shapes and forms with several materials such as clay or play dough. Therefore, although it appears that studying arts will not help students to find rewarding jobs once graduated, it is clear that a lot of professions include artistic skills, for example architect and designers need drawing skills. However, some people support the opinion that studying art is pointless and that the time allocated for teaching arts should be dedicated instead to practical subjects, such as maths, life science or foreign languages. Because these subjects provide kids usefull knowledge which can maximise their chances of employment in the future. Furthermore, not all kids are interested in arts, this means that forcing them to take arts courses is a lost cause. For instance, teaching music for a kid who has no interest in music or who has not good musical skills, will not only be a waste of time but also a source of frustration for the infant. In conclusion, while art subjects can benefit children development through instilling creative skills, dedacating time to teach these subjects appears useless since practical subjects are essential for the future. However I would argue that art subjects should be optional in schools and should be taken by only children with artistic interesr and potential skills.