There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work.

In today's society, there is a high demand for students to be academically successful. In the light of the event, some people think that in order for students to be concentrated on academic work, the school needs to remove non-academic subjects, such as physical education and culinary. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement on the extent of creativity and freedom. According to the ministry of education’s report, the freedom of having subjects, academically or non-academically, to choose from is crucial because children at a young age tend to have a higher ability to pick up new information than adults. In my experience of learning languages, when I learn English and Spanish before the age of 17, it appears to be easier for me to be fluent in. In contrast, learning French at the age of 25 appears to be more challenging. Meanwhile, in the extent of creativity, I believe that non-academic subjects have a higher tendency to teach students to think outside of the box. For example, an art subject often teaches its student to use their imagination to create products and have them improvise when a certain procedure is impossible or some materials are hard to find. Therefore, when students learn academic subjects, such as STEM, they will have the ability to get creative when solving problems. In conclusion, although the pressure to be academically successful is high, it is not an excuse for schools to remove non-academic subjects. As not only it limits students' freedom of choice, non-academic subjects are proven to be essential for students' creativity which will directly affect the process of academic works.