Some People Think That Allowing Children To Make Their Own Choices Is Likely To Result In A Society Of Individuals Who Only Think About Their Own Wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When it comes to allowing children to make their own decisions, some say that children should not be free in choosing what they want because it may cause narcissism. However, others think it would benefit children if they are able to make their own choices. Some people claim that parents giving their children freedom to make decisions can lead them to becoming selfish members of society. Since young children have a limited cognitive ability, it could be hard for them to take others’ needs into account while deciding even on regular matters. For example, when a child is allowed to choose to do karaoke in home to entertain his/herself, he/she may not be able to understand how much it can bother the family members. Therefore, the more the children are free to decide their daily routine, the more they get accustomed to neglecting others’ desires which may make them self-centered. On the other hand, letting a child make personal decisions can add many positive traits to their personality. When we encourage children to choose what they like, they understand how important their opinion is, resulting in a higher self-esteem and self-confidence as they grow up. Experiencing the decision-making process not only can shape a positive self-image, but it also strengthens the sense of responsibility in children. As they decide on their own, they become aware of the consequences their decisions cause, so they learn to accept the outcome. This helps them become more responsible citizens. In conclusion, some are concerned about turning their children into careless people who always put their satisfaction first by giving them free will in decision-making. I agree with those who believe if we let young children decide, it develops their personality positively.