Some People Think That Allowing Children To Make Their Own Choices Is Likely To Result In A Society Of Individuals Who Only Think About Their Own Wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matters that affect them.

While many believe that children should be allowed to decide what they should eat, learn, wear or watch can engender children to be a selfish person, some think that such action can facilitate children to become self-reliant. In my opinion, Parents should neither give their offspring absolute immunity or control them in every matter – there must be a balance. To begin with, it is crucial for youngsters to learn how to make their own decisions. In other word, decision making can increase their awareness in reference to taking fully responsibilities of their actions when they are mature. In fact, it is also a skill related directly to success and those children who have already trained such skill can easily bear with difficulties, setbacks and challenges in the future much more efficiently. In contrast, if parents allow youngsters to have their own way all the way that can be detrimental to their personality growth. Once they have the freedom to make their own choice regardless of it is good or bad, it is likely for them to become self-centered and fail to consider other feelings. For example, a child may not consider what other members of his family want to watch TV if he is using it. Therefore, Parents should set a limit of the freedom the children can have. To sum up, although the importance of learning decision making skill is undeniable, parents should also take into account about teaching their offspring respect others’ feeling; otherwise, they may end up being a selfish person.