Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in their future such as those related to science and technology.

While some advocate the viewpoint that pupils should be free to pursue their interests when continuing higher education, others (including me) contend that they must be mandated to take certain majors which pave their path to their future careers. Every student must reserve the right to self-determination, some believe. Firstly, being allowed to follow an academic route of their choice, pupils can take delight in what they learn, and the effort they exert towards reaching their goals. Unless an individual is passionate about a particular matter, he/she would not fully dedicate himself/herself to the cause. Secondly, were people granted the opportunity to choose from a vast array of courses, the job market would be greatly diversified as there would always be something to explore or venture upon. Consequently, this can accelerate economic growth and enhance social mobility. On the flip side, in many nations the status quo calls for adopting a different strategy. Firstly, unless a country is of a strong socio-economic infrastructure, having this diversity would not be entirely plausible. For instance, in most of under-developed, impoverished, or war struck countries, the very notion that residents must be permitted to follow their dreams in terms of their work does not hold any water. To the ones subscribing to this opinion, not only is it not a viable option, but the possibility of that is even disregarded. It is, therefore, deemed that tertiary education in tandem with the government must thrive to establish an ideal breeding ground for the enhancement of civic welfare and concentrate on the needs of the society as a whole rather than individuals. In conclusion, for all the above-mentioned reasons, I am of the conviction that would-be students must be obligated to study courses that would benefit them in the future.