With growing number of people in cities, more and more are living in smaller house with no outdoor places. What do you think is it positive or negative development?

As many people today choosing to live in urban areas, shortage of space for housing are tempting people to live in small houses without outside places. Personally, although residing in smaller houses with no outer spaces might have some its positive sides, I still believe that this is a negative trend. On the one hand, choosing compact houses, which often does not have its own backyard or garden, as a place of residence, in my opinion, would be the precursor of some stress-related and health diseases. Usually, living inside the four walls with no outdoor recreation place prevents people from both to get back to nature in order to relax and there is a high chance that they would be accustomed to sedentary lifestyle. This in turn would result not only in high levels of stress, but also lack of movement and active life contributes to obesity. Thus, the reason why I think that living in small houses without outdoor places is a negative trend would be the arising of some health issues of the population. However, there are some people who believe that small residential area without outdoor places is a positive trend in a way that it may save time which otherwise might be spent outside home. They point out that students and workers would be far away from any distractions, like gardening or hanging out with friends, which may allow them to focus on their task, and I think that in a way that makes sense. Nevertheless, I cannot support these peoples’ opinion since I believe that applies only to some individuals. Instead, I think that older people, children and some housewives also should be considered when choosing to reside in small houses with not enough space outdoors. Therefore, I also believe that saving time on household chores and entertainment is not a standing point to claim, but sometimes it is better to devote leisure time to recharge ones’ batteries. In conclusion, even though I can understand that living in small places with no outdoor places to some extent might be productive in some peoples’ lives, I still strongly feel that it is a negative development.