Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Some people harbour a belief that how much choice students should select to study at the university instead they are forced to study the certain courses about science or technology, while others hold the reverse viewpoint. From my perspective, it is a controversial issues which deserves an in-depth discussion. To begin with, one of the main argument in its favour is that university students should be free to choose their prefered areas of study. Society will benefit more, if our students ignite the passion of learning which they are interesting. Furthermore, nobody can predict that which area of study will be most useful to society in the future and also it may be that employers value the creative thinking skills instead of technical skills; if this were the case, we would need to learn the knowledge of art, history and philosophy than science and technology. On the other hand, some people occasionally realize the fact that the universities should only provide the key subjects courses which will useful in the future. They may assert university courses such as medicine, computer science, engineering and information of technology rather than some art degrees. It is true that these certain courses will offer more job opportunities, career progression, better salaries and also improve the quality of life for students. Besides aforementioned, the governments can ensure to bridge the gap between these professional knowledge and human society also lead to development of new technology, economic growth and greater future prosperity by forcing people to choose particular university subjects. In conclusion, despite the fact that universities focus only on certain subjects may bring the large for students future; however, I personally prefer current system for students who can select what they want to learn.