Research has shown that spending less time in office can reduce the use of energy (for example, electricity, gas). Thus some companies close for some days a week. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

People have begun the realization of energy consumption can be checked by reducing the time spent by employees in offices. Therefore, many companies have adopted strategies like reducing number of working days in a week. I believe that pros of this development outweigh the cons. There are many advantages of closing offices for some days a week. Firstly, it leads to a substantial reduction of expenses in terms of energy consumption, water usage and fuel consumption. Secondly, with the workweek load reduced and leisure time the productivity of employees improve, compensating for hours lost. For instance, the number of days in a workweek has been reduced from six to five days in government in India, which has not affected the work completed in a week. The commuting of employees and movement of office vehicles have also been reduced, resulting in substantial fuel savings. Furthermore, people get to spend time with their family and friends. This is very important in today’s era of cutthroat competition wherein people have become workaholics and are failing to draw a line between work and leisure. This day off could give them much-needed time for themselves and their families. This could recharge their batteries and make them go back to work the next day with added zeal and enthusiasm. On the other hand, this shortened workweek can affect work-output and reduce the earning of employees especially those work on daily wages. This could obviously discourage workers. Additionally, considering the competition faced by the companies and targets they have to achieve within the given deadlines, this policy could have detrimental effects on the companies’ performance. However, the drawbacks can be minimized by introducing alternative methods like telecommuting, where employees do not come to office, but work from home using modern telecommunication systems. To sum up, although there are minor disadvantages to this system, shorter workweeks can have greater benefits to individuals and society by saving the depleting energy resources of the world.