Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

People have different views about how much choice students should have with regard to what they can study at university. While some think that students should only be allowed to study subjects that these people think will be valuable in the future like science and technology, I believe that everyone should be able to choose their area of study. This essay will analyse both sides of this argument. For many people, restricting university students to areas that will be useful in the future is an easy statement to make. The main reason is that these kind of subjects contribute visibly to develop society. For example, improvements in medical department rely on advances medical research, engineering, computer technology and science. Only allowing students to have an education on these kind of specialties could lead to new inventions, economic growth and greater future prosperity. In spite of these believes, I think that university students should be free to choose their preferred areas of study. In my opinion, society will have more benefits if our students are passionate about what they are learning. Besides that, nobody can predict the future and what kind of skills will be needed for jobs. For instance, there may be entirely new fields created that need strong, artistic ability. If students are only trained to be good scientists or engineers, they may not be able to succeed in these new domains. Additionally, if we allow students to choose their major, society will be able to adapt to future easily, due to diversity of knowledge and skills. In conclusion, while it may seem sensible for universities to focus only on the most useful subjects, I personally prefer the current system in which everyone has the opportunity to study whatever they like.