Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Compare and Contrast thes

Nowadays getting a university degree is much more popular than it was ever before. People have different views about how much choice students should have with regard to what they can study at university. While I can understand why some argue that it would be better for students to be forced into certain key subject areas, I believe that everyone should be able to study the course of their choice. On the one hand, there are various reasons why people believe that universities should only offer subjects that will be useful in the future. the most obvious reason is that they may assert those university courses like medicine, engineering and information technology are more likely to be beneficial than certain art degrees. From a personal perspective, it can be argued that these courses provide more job opportunities, career progression, better salaries, and therefore an improved quality of life for students who take them. moreover, On the societal level, by forcing people to choose particular university subjects, governments can ensure that any knowledge and skill gaps in the economy are covered. also, a focus on technology in higher education could lead to new inventions, economic growth, and greater future prosperity. These are why some people believe that studying subjects that will be of great use in future is better. In spite of these arguments, I believe that university students should be free to choose their preferred areas of study. First, society will benefit more if our students are passionate about what they are learning. Those who argue that having to study the subjects offered by university means a better job opportunity fail to take into account the job satisfaction which comes with passion. Second, nobody can really predict which areas of knowledge will be most useful to society in the future, and it may be that employers begin to value creative thinking skills above practical or technical skills. Therefore what seems to increase you chance of finding a good job may prove less useful in future. If this were the case, perhaps we would need more students of art, history and philosophy than of science or technology. From these, it is clear why so many others including me, gravitate towards freedom of choice when it comes to subjects to study at university. In conclusion, although it might seem sensible for universities to focus only on the most useful subjects, I personally prefer the current system in which people have the right to study whatever they like.