Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Whether university students should study subjects of their own choices or should they be obliged to study career oriented technology and science major subjects is a widely debated issue. Both of these views have arguments for and against them and this essay delves these views and expresses my opinion before drawing a reasonable conclusion. On the one hand, a university is the highest citadel for education in a country and it is considered that it builds the next adept generation who would lead the country. From this regards, the education and teaching policy of the university affect the whole nation. Some experts are in the opinion that students at university level should be given a certain freedom while picking majors they study in and there should not be any predefined syllabus. They opine that forcing them to study some latest subjects for the future employment would make them become workers for offices, not leaders for the country. They also express that letting them study a wide range of subjects would make them far more knowledgeable and prepared to take challenges and this policy would inspire tertiary level students to follow their dream and not just blindly run for their career. Furthermore, society needs as many artists as there are as many scientists. Forcing university students to study only science and teach related subjects would create an imbalance in our society. On the contrary, the university authority must consider the consequences of letting students choose their subjects. A recent study shows that predefined syllabus-bound a student study regularly and prepares for the exam while freedom to take any subject dramatically increases the number of dropout students. This is an alarming issue and this is why the university authority needs to think twice before implementing the policy. Furthermore, development of a nation, these days, highly depends on the technologically sound workforce and universities should yield such workforce for the country. From this perspective, it seems quite logical for universities to teach science related subjects to most of its students. To conclude, universities have to consider the pros and cons of any policy adopted including whether the students are free to pick their subjects or not. Personally, I believe that letting university students prefer their subjects have far more benefits and seem more logical in a broader sense.