Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Different people have different point of view on what subjects should university students study – whatever they like or just science and technology? I am in favour of the former one. Some individuals believe that all university students should study subjects depending on their own interests. First of all, gaining a wide range of knowledge expands their minds, which is beneficial in fostering well-rounded individuals. Also, attending courses like philosophy and history can develop their analyzing skills and critical thinking, which will make them more qualified and competent in their future career. Furthermore, it is beneficial for university students to get a better understanding of themselves and enhance their self-confidence and self-esteem when participating in stimulating and motivating lectures and activities. While other people argue that students should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future. They claim that in this highly competitive society, time is precious so students should only spend time focusing on certain subjects that will make an immediate contribution to society. Science and technology plays the role of driving force behind the productivity growth. Apart from this, studying too much may cause distractions to university students. They may choose those interesting and easy-to-learn courses rather than going deep into one difficult subject. As far as I am concerned, students should be given enough freedom to choose whatever they want to learn, with a proper guidance from their tutors and the whole society