Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It is always argued that the majority of individuals believe that the third level education students should be able to learn whatever they want, while others including me think that they should have freedom to study science or technology related subjects that are important to the future. From one point of view, if students are given the privilege of choosing the subjects of study, studying at university would be interesting for them. In other words, when they study subjects that they are interested in, studying would be more enjoyable. Furthermore, many students do not want to spend their time on boring lessons for them, such as some postgraduates might not be interested in math or physics. Although these lessons will be needful for their future, they may be bored to study them. As a result, they can lose their interests of studying at university, unless they are permitted to study whatever they like. Therefore, it is believed that government should allow students to learn whatever they want. ​ From another perspective, it is said by some that undergraduates should be engaged to study science or technology related subjects because every field of profession includes these subjects. That is to say that when postgraduates apply for taking up an occupation, they are required to know those. If they do not have relevant experience to a job or they have a poor education, they may not be accessed to the profession. Moreover, there are some insignificant subjects that scholars do not need to learn or study such as physical education lessons, and undergraduates waste their time to learn them although this subject does not need in the future. Thus, I believe that scholars should study these subjects which related to technology or science. To conclude, many people are against studying core subjects; however, it is always better to study these subjects and make them their fundamentals strong for a successful future.