Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary era, university pupils should study subjects of their own choices or should they be obliged to study career oriented technology and science major subjects is a widely debated issue. A number of people reckon that students will retain their freedom to study subjects which they are fascinated; whilst others accord that they ought to involved in major that will be extremely helped in the future. This essay delves both the views and expresses my opinion. To embark upon, a university is the highest citadel for education in a country and it is crucial the next adept generation who would lead the country. For example, the experts tend to say “the student at university level shall be given certain freedom while picking majors they study in and there shall not be any predefined syllabus”. Furthermore, they opine that forcing them to study a plethora of the latest subjects for the future employment would prepare them become workers for offices, not leaders for the country, however, they also express that letting them study a wide range of subjects would make them far more knowledgeable. Thus, not solely blindly run for their career. On the flip side, the university authority must consider the consequences of letting pupils choose their subjects. For example, a recent study shows that predefined syllabus-bound a pupil study regularly and prepares for the exam while freedom to take any subject dramatically increases the number of dropout pupil. Meanwhile, this is an alarming issue and this is why the university authority needs to think twice prior to implementing the policy. To conclude, certain freedom while picking subjects in university level is extremely helpful for the overall development and knowledge enhancement of pupil. Hence, an absolute freedom would make the outcome worse.