Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Graduating from a foreign university has become a more common option to students who earlier tended to finish their higher education in their homeland. This essay will suggest that gaining life experience is the most considerable advantage of this and the high cost to afford international studies is the primary disadvantage. There are several advantages to study abroad. One of them is life experience due to the fact of learning another language and interacting with people from other cultures, which contribute to the student’s personal growth. For instance, a recent study conducted by Harvard’s specialists indicated that people who studied abroad have 75% more probability to succeed in life. A fantastic example of this is my brother, who graduated from University of Toronto and was hired even before the convocation. Despite these advantages, being an international student definitely costs a tremendous amount of money. This plays a crucial role in the decision making because it requires a long-term plan and undoubtedly impacts the financial health of a family. In fact, this has been evidenced by a recent survey published by the British Government that found that 84% of students who study abroad are an only child. For instance, even though I am not an only child, five out of six of my closest classmates are the only son or daughter of their parents. In conclusion, studying abroad can provide to an international student a priceless life experience, however, a family should have a solid financial plan and take into account all costs before making a decision.